compositesAlain Rakotomanana_1_compositeAlain Rakotomanana_1Photo Story   Photo Story - 2 Photo Story - 3 Photo Story - 4 Photo Story - 5 Photo Story - 6Assignment 3_Alain Rakotomanana - 01 Assignment 3_Alain Rakotomanana - 02 Assignment 3_Alain Rakotomanana - 03ALP1 #3ALP1 #3Decisive Moment _ AssAlain Rakotomanana_01Alain Rakotomanana_02#3 Alain Rakotomanana_03Alain Rakotomanana_04   ALP1_#2_Alain RakotAlain Rakotomanana_01omaAlain Rakotomanana_02nana Alain Rakotomanana_03  Alain Rakotomanana_04Alain Rakotomanana-01 Alain Rakotomanana-02 AlainR_Conceptual imageAlain Rakotomanana-01 Alain Rakotomanana-02 Alain Rakotomanana-03 Alain Rakotomanana-DescriptionApplied Photographic Design 2Walking Soccer LibraryApplied Photographic Design 2
Assignment #1

Photo#1: Walking
Photo was taken with a big aperture, F1.2.
The purpose is to separate the subject from a busy background. It was taken from 20m away in order to show, to some extent, the environment (the library).
Since the subject was moving, the camera was set to AI Servo mode, relatively fast shutter speed (1/320s – as opposed to 1/100s which is my standard for a 85mm lens). ISO was relatively low (320 which is 1 stop higher than the native ISO of this camera (160)).
From a composition point of view, leading lines and repetition were used to draw viewer’s attention towards the subject.

Photo#2: Soccer
My goal in this shoot was to isolate the player from the spectators while showing other players as an environment. I had at my disposal two lenses: 135mm f2 and 300mm f4. 135mm was not long enough to fill up the frame (isolation) while f4 (the maximum opening on the 300mm) was shallow enough to blur the background.
Due to light limitation, I had to use a high ISO = 10 000, which is acceptable. The images are meant to be posted on my website and for relatively small prints.
For soccer games, I usually set the shutter speed no longer than 1/500s in order to freeze action, but I had to stay at 1/400s in order to keep native ISO for the camera (multiplication of 160). Noise reduction was used in Adobe Camera Raw. I usually go around 1/300s when I need to show the movement of the ball while maintaining sharpness of the player (which was used on other photos of that day).
From a composition point of view, I had to use the center focus point for maximum accuracy of AI servo mode. I would use the left focusing point if I had more light. That would give more sense of direction. The rule of third was partially achieved by the presence of other players.
Leading lines on the floor were accidental (I didn’t pay attention to them during the shoot)

Photo#3: Library
I chose a relatively deep F stop of 5.6 in this photo in order to achieve more subjects in focus.
I had to use a tripod and a long shutter speed of 1.3 sec. Since I shot from a higher vantage point and I didn’t have any subjects within intermediate vicinity 5.6 was deep enough, otherwise I would have used at least F11 and focused on the subjects in the middle.
Leading lines and repetition are present to draw viewer’s attention. Symmetry was used and as a result I focused using the center focusing point. Finally, lens correction was applied in post in order to achieve better vertical and horizontal lines being important aspect of architectural photography.
Manual white balance was mandatory due to unusual color temperature in the building. Lowest ISO was used to achieve least noise contrary to photo 1 and 2. This is possible thanks to the tripod.

